November 6, 2006

  •  

    Now that I’ve successfully changed the question in your head from “Where the heck has Dram been the last ten months!?!” to “What the heck is up with these pictures!?!”, we can now proceed with the blog.

    First, an update on the power that is Yuta Tabuse:

    2002-03 Denver Nuggets record: 17 wins, 65 losses
    2003-04 Denver Nuggets with Yuta: 43 wins, 39 losses and made the playoffs!

    2003-04 Phoenix Suns record: 29 wins, 53 losses
    2004-05 Phoenix Suns with Yuta: 62 wins, 20 losses and made the playoffs!

    2004-05 Los Angeles Clippers record: 37 wins, 45 losses
    2005-06 Los Angeles Clippers with Yuta: 47-35 and made the playoffs!

    So, after getting cut by the Clippers, Yuta took his talents to the National Basketball Development League, sort of a minor league for the NBA.  He was drafted by the Albuquerque Thunderbirds… no doubt, with the number one pick.  And how did the Albuquerque Thunderbirds do with Yuta on their team?

    Why of course, they won the NBDL championship!

    So, not only has he turned three different crappy NBA teams into playoff-eligible teams just by being on the roster, but he’s also won an ABA and NBDL championship in the last three years, with an ABA second-place finish in the other year!

    However, a funny thing happened on the way to this year’s championship…

    March 16: ALBUQUERQUE
    Signed C Andreas Glyniadakiis. Waived G Yuta Tabuse.

    THEY CUT YUTA!?!

    What the heck!?!  No WONDER nobody watches the NBDL!  And who the crap is Andreas Glyinelakadakayakadis!?!

    Anyway, I’m sure you didn’t come here to read about Yuta Tabuse (although you really should, you know).  You came here to read a Dramamine Boy’s Xanga blog.  And what better way to re-start here at Dramamine Boy’s Xanga than to introduce a new segment, titled:

     

    Not-So-Great Moments in Shoplifting

    Owning a retail store has its advantages and disadvantages.  Obviously, one such disadvantage is dealing with shoplifters.  This disadvantage becomes even more pronounced when your clientele is mostly comprised of kids.  Especially smart-alecky, think they know-it-all kids.

    Now, the GOOD thing about having kids that think that they can steal stuff is… they’re dumb.  I mean, seriously, how often do you see kids act all smooth when they try to steal stuff?  These kids are the most nervous-looking people on the planet, so they’re usually pretty easy to spot as long as you’re paying attention.

    With this in mind, we now present our story…

    Before we moved our shop to its current location, we had a street fair once a year where they would close down the street.  They would have bands and food booths lining the street while people walk up and down the avenue.  It used to be the busiest day of the year by far, with ten to twenty people in our tiny store all day long.  Needless to say, it’s pretty tough to watch for shoplifters on this day.

    Anyway, we had a box of sports posters near our front door that customers could look through and pick out ones that they wanted.  A kid came in and hovered around the box of posters.  Here’s a picture to help you visualize my story:

     

    Now, this isn’t a picture of the actual kid, I got this pic off the internet.  Shoplifters usually don’t let you take their picture so they can be made fun of years later on Dramamine Boy’s Xanga.  But, this kid looks to be around the same age as the kid that came into the store, so that’ll do.

    Anyway, I keep watching this kid out of the corner of my eye while he looks over at me.  Now, looking over at me standing behind the counter isn’t very fishy.  Looking over at me standing behind the counter approximately 200 times in three minutes will make me a little suspicious.

    So, when it looks like I’m not paying attention, the kid quietly sneaks a poster out of the box and as he turns to walk out the door, I move over to him and say, “Hey, you need some help there, guy?”.  He abruptly turns around and moves right up to the counter that separates us, holding the poster low so I can’t see it.

    “Hi!”, he says, “No, I’m just lookin’ around… man, it sure is busy today!  There’s a lot of people in here!”

    I chit-chat with him a bit and he keeps talking for a couple of minutes, asking me questions and discussing sports, while keeping his hands well below the counter-top so I can’t see the poster in his hand.  He was very calm during the whole conversation… I gotta give him credit for that.  If it was me trying to steal something, I’d probably yell out something like, “WHAT!?!  HI!  NO!  NO HELP!  NOHELPFORMEOKAYTHANKSHAHAHAHA!”, while about three gallons of sweat pour off my head.

    “Well, I’m gonna go see what else you have here”, as he starts walking towards the back of the shop.  I figured he must’ve dropped the poster on the floor while we were talking and he wanted to distance himself from the evidence.  When he got out of ear-shot, I asked another kid that was standing nearby, “Hey, can you pick up the poster that’s laying on the floor, please?”.

    The kid turns around, looks down and says, “There’s no poster on the floor.”

    Okay, now I’m a little perplexed.  He didn’t have time to put the poster back in the box.  I KNOW I saw him take it out of the box.  I leaned far over the counter and sure enough, there’s no poster on the floor.

    “What the heck… where did that poster go?”, I say to myself as I turn towards the back of the shop to look for the kid.  At that time, the kid comes walking back towards me.  Except now, he looks a little different.  To again aid in the visualization of the story, here’s another picture:

     

    Let us all pause for a bit to let that last image sink in.

     

     

     

     

    Now… either:

    1) this kid suddenly grew a pointy hunchback in the last 30 seconds, or

    2) I’ve solved the mystery of the missing poster.

    So, this kid, still as cool as can be, starts chatting with me again.  He asks about who’s playing in the football game that was on our TV, what the score was, etc.  All the while, he has this new, pointy feature and he’s obviously oblivious to this fact.  How I didn’t start laughing in this kid’s face, I don’t know.

    “Okay man, I’m gonna go check out what’s goin’ on up the street!”, he says, as he starts walking out the door.

    “Hold on”, I reply, “you might wanna give me back that poster before you leave.”

    He turns around and opens his mouth like he’s about to try to talk his way out of it… and really, I would’ve LOVED to hear the denial or the excuse he was about to give.  But instead, he drops his shoulders (well, he drops only one of his shoulders, since his other one was hovering somewhere near the top of his head) and admits defeat as he pulls the poster out from under the back of his jacket.

    Usually, I’ll yell at the kid or threaten to call the police or their parents or something.  But heck, I wanted him to leave so I could make fun of him, so he handed over the poster and I let him walk out.

    The moral of the story is… heck, should there really be a moral of the story other than “DON’T FRIKKIN’ STEAL!”?  I guess we could make up another moral like… you need to be REALLY TALL in order to hide a poster under your jacket.

Comments (18)

  • He’s aliiiiiive!!! And even though the DBD was longer than the actual post, I’ll still comment here anyways. I so totally have to play that timed-child-injuring game sometime… looks like fun! And koodoes on how you handled the shoplifter… I thought that was hillarious… I probably would have done the same

  • I would have taken that little brat down. All’s fair in love and stores. Or wars. …Something.

  • I missed you. I had forsaken updating my own xanga because you had left for so long.

  • HAHA. i didn’t expect him to give it back. nice image alteration work.

  • i hear kids these days wear all their tops asymmetrically pointed.  left side=west-coast rap fan; right side=east-coast rap fan.  he was only using your poster to keep in fashion.

  • It’s actually sort of scary that he wasn’t nervous. I’ll bet he’s been stealing non-jacket-deforming objects for a while. Stupid brat.

  • All I’ve ever stolen from a shop was candy. And it was penny candy, too.

  • now how bad would you have felt if he had grown a hunchback in the last 30 seconds? Huh? Yeah, I thought so.

  • Oh look, a bi-annual post!
    :D

  • oh hey, welcome back.

  • where the hell have you been?? YATTA YATTA YATTA!!!!

  • Dram’s back! And still getting more comments than me! Haha…

    Damn, I dunno what I would’ve done if I were the kid in that situation. My first reflex would probably have been deny, deny, deny. But that obviously wouldn’t have worked. But then again, I WAS a pretty tall kid so maybe I would’ve gotten away with it. *high fives Winona Ryder* :P

  • Glad to see you back, wow. I’m glad I didn’t take you off my subscription list. It was worth it. :)

  • You should’ve taken that poster and smacked him upside the head with it. Kids these days…The most I’ve ever stole was some fake tattoos from Chuck E. Cheese. They cost less than a penny anyway.

  • you mean about 5 foot and 9 inches tall right?  Which rounds up to 5’10.  Which really is 6’0?

    love the post, dram.  you’re STILL the best!!!

  • neko_nog – DBD?  What ever are you talking about? *whistles nervously*

    gottaget_thruthis – The thought of hitting him in the head with the poster briefly entered my mind, but alas, I was too chicken to do so.

    IMaFoBmaGneT - Welp, you better get crackin’ on a new entry then!

    sugarbear – That picture is the second attempt at re-creating the moment.  The first image was… horrible.

    tjthunderball – So what you’re saying is, I did my part to prevent eastside/westside violence?  Woohoo!

    grisaleen – He was pretty smooth for a kid… but he was still dumb.

    Lizka – Yeah… uh, me too. *whistles nervously*

    dlordcletus – I would’ve sent a $10 donation to the Pointy Hunchback Preservation Society to make myself feel better.

    search_to_destroy – Hahaha… yeah, I know, I know!

    manvsmachine – Thank ya kindly!

    vecspeed12 – Duuuude!  Peter’s!  When are we goin’!?!

    benthewriter – Hahahaha… Winona is too short to get away with poster stealing.

    Engil_Deimen – Yay for not getting deleted off of your subscription list!  Someone else deleted me off of theirs the day I posted this. =/

    Golfer_Hater – See, that’s what I was thinkin’ too… doggone it, I missed my opportunity for free kid abuse.

    sydney_chickie – Hahahaha!  Hey, it’s 5’9 1/2″!  Don’t rob me of that 1/2 inch!

  • Dang how did I not get a notice that you have updated!?!? CNN didn’t scroll the news nor did Fox.
    I was already 6′ as a teen but only 140 pounds so I looked just like a rolled up poster. There was no way I could have swiped one. Plus I too would be all nervous and that means uncontrollable mindless chatter and a deluge of sweat.
    Sorry to hear that they cut Yuta. Unfortunately Asian basketball players are passe right now and eastern european constanant rich players are back in.

  • lol good job Detective Dram! you prolly shouldve growled at the kid though and threatened to call his parents so he wont ever ever EVER even dream of stealing again…well at least not from your store :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

Recent Comments

Categories