April 24, 2007

  • I was flipping through my music library on my hard drive the other day and came across a rather startling anomaly…
     
    I own seven Howard Jones songs.
     
    SEVEN!?!  How did this happen!?!  That’s more songs on my hard drive than I have of Aerosmith!  More songs than Bruce Springsteen!  More songs than a ha, Nena, Soft Cell, and The Vapors… COMBINED!
     
    How many people out there can even NAME seven Howard Jones songs (off the top of your head, you Google-using cheaters!)?  Geez, how many people out there even know who Howard Jones is!?!


    What’re you talkin’ about!?!  I RULE!

    Who else out there owns Howard Jones songs?  And who in the world would have seven!?!  Now, I’m not talkin’ about going out and buying one of his albums (back when they actually sold things called “albums”) or a CD (does anyone even BUY CDs anymore?), which have twelve or so songs on each one.  You end up only liking a few and the rest you listen to only if you’re too lazy to skip to the next song.
     
    These are all mp3′s, which means I made the conscious decision to downlo… er… acquire through strictly legal means… each and every song.  I also have these songs on cassette from way back when.  Since I was “acquiring” these songs while going through my cassette library, the Howard Jones songs were spread out over many cassettes, so I never realized I had so many of his songs.
     
    Anyway, I made a little chart, so the next time someone tells you how many Howard Jones songs they own (which, I’m sure, comes up in conversation all the time), you can reply with the proper response:


     
     The Howard Jones Song Response Chart
     

    If they say they own…You reply with…
    1 song*shrugs* “I thought No One is to Blame (or other Howard Jones song of your choice) was okay”
    2 songsRaise the “eyebrow of contempt”
    3 songs“Remind me never to ask for your advice on music”
    4 songsDo a double take or, if drinking, a spit-take followed by a loud, “WHAAAAAAT!?!”
    5 songsLeave your mouth open in stunned silence for several seconds… fainting is optional
    6 songs“HAHAHAHA… no seriously, how many Howard Jones songs do you REALLY have?”
    7 songs“I’m not your friend anymore.”

    So, it looks like I’ll be deleting some of these songs off of my hard drive… cuz I like having friends.

Comments (15)

  • I never heard of him, but I can dig the hair. It reminds me of Mike Score.

  • I definitively dig the hair as well!

    It’s an awful shame I have to no longer be your friend… I was kinda enjoying the insanity. Curse you Howard Jones! CURSE YOU!!!

  • So, um… yeeaaah.

  • hahah…who’s howard jones?

  • Seriously. Who is Howard Jones?

  • hahaha. the four-song reaction is great.

  • I have EIGHT Howard Jones mp3s in my harddrive!

    Uh, no, not really. :P

  • my heart broke a little for Tmac. :(

  • Whoa, that hair has a life of its own. Seriously.

    What is that, flock of seagulls? Was that the 80s ‘Mullet’ of the times so to speak?

    The mind boggles.

  • Jimbo1023, Golfer_Hater, Lizka – Doggone it, Howard Jones is part of musical lore, I tell ya!  He’s a cultural icon, right up there with Elvis, The Beatles and Yanni!  And let’s totally ignore the fact that I have no idea who Mike Score is.

    neko_nog – What boggles my mind is that he paid big bucks to have his hair look like that.  Seriously, what do you ask for when you go to the hairdresser?  “I want to look like I just got out of bed after sleeping on a pillow filled with maple syrup”?

    grisaleen – Yeah, that’s probably the response a lot of people had.

    sugarbear

    benthewriter – HA!  You can’t fool me!  A person with eight Howard Jones songs doesn’t exist!

    CindyWang – Yeah, same here until I realized that he made like 14 million bucks this year.

    xanderah – Well, pretty much everyone in the 80′s had some sort of strange hair style.  Look at Ronald Reagan… I think his hair was made out of iron.

  • ROFL! Do you still CS? I play 1.6… I’m going to play right now. Add me on Friends — My name is “Steff.” (With the period) And if you have HL2… I’m just going to feel stupid for leaving this comment.

  • I’m definitely bringing that photo in for my next haircut, by the way. I’m going to rock it like Howard Jones is going out of style.

  • dude you should’ve just come up and talked to me! as weird as that would’ve been, it’s still weird. haha but you know people who invest a lot of time in xanga understand that kind of nerdiness.

    oh and we only one the first game and lost the second two. what team were you on?

    and i’m not quite sure who howard jones is.

  • I dont know Howard Jones..but I DO know Howard Yosha…but he doesnt sing..but he does write, and I have a rare cd of his work!!

  • I am so so sorry… I should have posted a warning.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *