December 26, 2006

  • Not-So Great Moments in Dramamine Boy’s History
     
    Baseball – A Tragedy in Three Parts
     
    Part III – The Embarrassing

     
    Family sticks together - I’m seven years old and we were playing a team that my cousin played on.  He hit a ball, made it to first and tried to stretch it into a double.  The ball was thrown to second and he was caught in a rundown, also called a “pickle” (stuck in between first and second base).
     
    In normal baseball, the player with the ball would run at the baserunner and either tag him or he would throw the ball to the base he’s running back to (in this case, first base) and then the first baseman would tag him out.  If the defense executes this play correctly, it takes maybe one or two throws.  If done incorrectly, the baserunner could be running back and forth for 1/2 an hour.
     
    Needless to say, when you have a bunch of 7 to 10-year old kids out there, this type of play rarely takes one or two throws.  However, I had an ingenious idea.  As soon as I saw my cousin get in the rundown, I left my shortstop position and ran right at him, so I was basically standing right next to him.  I put my glove up asking for the ball.  My idea was, they could eliminate all this running and throwing and chasing by throwing me the ball and I could just reach over and tag my cousin.  See?  I AM SMART!
     
    But, for some reason, my team didn’t throw me the ball.  Maybe they were awe-struck by the revolutionary new idea I had.  Or, maybe they knew I sucked and would probably drop it, I don’t know.  So, instead of my cousin running back and forth between two players, you had my cousin AND me both running back and forth between two players.  Back and forth we went for five or six throws, my cousin desperately bobbing and weaving to avoid getting tagged out, me bobbing and weaving right with him while waving my arms emphatically asking for the ball.
     
    Apparently, this was the funniest moment of the season.
     


    Fielding, Part II –
     

     
    Okay, so here’s a picture of me playing baseball.  Let’s ignore the fact that I’m left-handed and I’m playing shortstop.  Generally, there are zero left-handed players playing shortstop on any team in the world.  It has to do with fielding grounders to my right (hard to get momentum to throw to first base from that spot) and other baseball-technical stuff that I’m trying to show that I know, when in fact, I’m pretty much clueless.  These rules do not apply to me anyway, since I rarely caught any ball hit to me no matter where it was, nor did I throw the ball anywhere near the first baseman if I did happen to catch it.
     
    Instead, notice the rather unique fielding position I’m in.  Now, if you take a look at Cal Ripken Jr., this is his fielding position:
     

     
    And heck, if you take a look at pretty much any infielder in the history of the game, they’re in the same fielding position.  Not me, baby.  I’m sure you’re wondering, “Dram, why are you using this different stance?  Have you discovered a totally revolutionary way of playing shortstop?  Does this stance give you an advantage over certain types of plays at shortstop that the conventional stance does not?”
     
    And my answer to this is… “Uhhhh… yeah, that’s what it was”.
     
    The actual answer is… on a baseball glove, they have leather strips that are tied in a knot to hold parts of the glove together.  You can see some of these untied leather strips dangling from Lupus’ glove in the first part of this series.  One such tie is on the top of my glove in the picture above.  The loose ends of the knot curved upward from the edge of the glove like so:
     
    (_____)
     
    If you look really, really close, you might be able to make out those strands.  I’m not sure how I discovered this, but I thought that looked kinda like an aiming sight for a gun.  So, I lined up the hitter inside those “sights”, so I guess you could say that I’m “aiming” my glove at the hitter like a gun.  Heck, I might’ve even made gun sounds while I was out there.
     
    So, looking back at the previous photograph, I believe we can alter it to:
     

     
    This revolutionary new approach to fielding didn’t last long.  As I recall, I used this stance for a game or two until someone hit a ball off my shin.


     
    Doggone you Adam Sandler! - I’m probably in 5th grade or so and we had a game on a Saturday afternoon.  We show up early to set up the field and to warm up.  Warming up basically consists of tossing the ball around to loosen up the arm.  Two players would stand about twenty feet apart and they would throw the ball back and forth.  After a bit, they would lengthen the distance between them, resulting in longer throws.
     
    This is what I was doing that sunny Saturday afternoon.  Since there’s no runners to worry about, funny hops off the ground to deal with and no fly balls to lose in the sun… it’s pretty easy to catch and throw, catch and throw.  A teammate and I were throwing the ball back and forth for about five minutes… I threw the ball to him.  He caught it and threw it back to me.  I put my glove up and…
     
    I’m not sure what happened.  I think there was some sort of planetary gravitational shift or something.  I guess there could be a tiny, minute chance that it could be due to me being totally horrible at baseball.  Whatever the case, instead of the ball nestling in my glove like the hundreds of times before, it tipped off the top of my glove and hit me right smack in the forehead.  A big bump showed up on my forehead and everyone was worried enough that they took me to the hospital and I missed the game.
     
    So yes, I got hurt and was taken to the hospital due to injuries occurring while WARMING UP BEFORE A GAME.
     
    I mean really, this just sucked.  When a kid gets hurt during a game, the coach runs out there and the teammates gather around.  The kid usually gets up and everyone (including the kids and coaches on the other team) clap in support of the kid for toughing it out.
     
    Heck, when I got hurt, the other team hadn’t even showed up yet! 
     
    Just like earlier Not So Great Moments In Dramamine Boy History entries, there is no photo or video evidence of this event.  So, we’ll just have to do the best we can.
     
    First, we need a profile picture:
     

    Hey, that’s a pretty decent profile… that should be on a nickel or something.
     
    Okay, let’s add a hat
     

    and of course, we need a glove
     

    There we go.  Aaaaaaand… action.


     

     

    Merry Christmas everyone!… uh, yesterday.

Comments (15)

  • Oh DUDE! I couldn’t write for a while and my nose still stings from shooting lemon honey green tea out of it. That is one funny visual demonstration.

  • ahahaha.
    what prompted you to start writing after all these YEARS again?

  • GREAT Dram…plenty of props for this one. I’m having a hard time typing – laughing so hard.

    To Dram’s Fans…
    Being an eyewitness to this event, Dram’s animated portrayal is fairly accurate. Being the tough it out guy that he is, he didn’t mention the delicate operation the emergency room doctors had to perform on (in) his ears in order to see if the ball was still lodged in his brain. It wasn’t pretty!!!

  • oooohh… that’s one nasty welt you have there! I mean… uh… I’m sure plenty of ladies are immensely attracted to you now. I know I’ve always had a fetish for Triclopses

  • bah. what does cal ripken know about fielding stances? :P

  • hahaha…*sigh* that’s funny!

  • lololo at the gun aiming haha so maybe you wernet the best shortstop evar, but it just shows you were meant for CS even at an early age!!! perhaps instead of putting you in baseball leagues, your parents shouldve developed & maximized your CS talents and enrolled you in some little league gaming clan! :) :) eh eh eh?

    lol and howd you make that gif? it’s so realistic!!1!!1 hahaa

    oh and no…human sacrifices do not take place at LIBBC lol…its a church! where ppl worship! but my parents had some problems with the church, plus my boyfriend goes to that church, so they dont want me to go there everveerverver again. :( sigh

    but happy new year dram!! :)

  • i am a phone blogger. i have a motorola q. love it. but it makes using the real computer so annoying.

  • that animation is great.

  • haha yes, practically unconscious–from the paaaiiiiiinnnnn!

  • Oh Dram!  Great visual aids and all, but the fact still remains that Lefties should Never play shortstop!  (I was one myself, which lasted for about three balls-to-the-shin episodes.)  Hope all the bumps and bruises (both physical and emotional – hehe) have successfully healed since then… poor thing!

  • DRAM!!! You’re blogging again!!! YAAAAAAAAAAAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Teeehheee… love that I was reading this post while talking to you.

    Now blog again!

    hahah..

    syd

  • those comments you left me about march madness could’ve been a blog!! :P

  • IagosEnvy – Good luck getting that honey out of those nostrils!

    search_to_destroy – I dunno, I just had some things to say, so there ya go. Years!?!  It hasn’t been years… has it?

    magure – The memory of that haunts me to this day.

    neko_nog – I think I combed my hair straight down for awhile to hide that bump.

    benthewriter – Apparently… more than me.

    Bloodberry – Well… they didn’t have video games back then.   I wish they had CS back when I was young.  I’m gettin’ too old to keep up with these young’uns now.

    THREE_IN_DC – I was thinkin’ about blogging from my phone, but haven’t figured out how to do it… or if I could even upload pictures… or even figured out half of the things that this phone does.

    kmarie1078 – Yeah see, I can not be faulted for playing shortstop… I was only playing where I was told!

    COMS_K – Maybe.

    sydney_chickie – Hey, I thought you were just looking at the pictures!  What’re ya tryin’ to say, you weren’t paying attention to what I was saying!?!

    benthewriter – I know man, I was thinkin’ the same thing after I typed that out!

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *